



MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF ATHLONE MUNICIPAL DISTRICT HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER - ÁRAS AN CHONTAE, ON MONDAY, 21ST JUNE, 2021

PRESENT:Councillor Donal KilduffPRESIDEDMEMBERS:CIIr L. Fallon, CIr E. Kelly, CIr J. Keogh, CIr J. Naughten and CIr T. Ward.OFFICIALS:Paul Browne, Acting Municipal District Coordinator
Shelia Glennon, Assistant Staff Officer
Pat Murtagh, A/Director of Services

Apologies:

21.21 ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH

Cllr. Donal Kilduff welcomed everyone to the AGM of Athlone Municipal District. He thanked the Executive and staff for their support and co-operation during his term as Cathaoirleach.

The Cathaoirleach invited proposal for the election of the Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED BY**: Cllr. Emer Kelly **SECONDED BY**: Cllr. John Keogh

That Cllr. Laurence Fallon be elected to the Cathaoirleach.

It was PROPOSED BY;	Cllr. Tony Ward
SECONDED BY:	Cllr. Donal Kilduff

That Cllr. Emer Kelly by elected to the Cathaoirleach. As Cllr. Emer Kelly declined,

It was PROPOSED BY: Cllr. Tony Ward SECONDED BY: Cllr. Donal Kilduff

That Cllr. Donal Kilduff be elected to the Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. Donal Kilduff called for a vote on the position of Cathaoirleach and the Councillors voted in the following manner.-

Voting for election of Cllr. Laurence Fallon. – Cllr. Keogh, Cllr. Naughten, Cllr. Kelly, Cllr. Fallon (4 votes) Voting for election of Cllr. Donal Kilduff – Cllr. Ward, Cllr. Kilduff (2 votes)

It was deemed that Clr. Laurence Fallon be elected Cathaoirleach of the Athlone MD to hold office until his successor is appointed in accordance with the law.

Cllr. Laurence Fallon thanked his proposer and seconder and fellow councillor for their support and looked

forward to working with all members during his term as Cathaoirleach

All members congratulated Cllr. Laurence Fallon and wished him well as Cathaoirleach. The members also thanked Cllr. Donal Kilduff for the excellent job he had done during his term as Cathaoirleach.

22.21 ELECTION OF LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH

Cllr Laurence Fallon sought nominations for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach

It was **PROPOSED BY**: Cllr. J Naughten **SECONDED BY**: Cllr. Emer Kelly

That Cllr John Keogh be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach

It was **PROPOSED BY:** Cllr. Donal Kilduff **SECONDED BY:** Cllr. Tony Ward

That Cllr Tony Ward be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach

Voting for the election of Cllr John Keogh – Cllr. Naughten, Cllr. Kelly, Cllr. Fallon, Cllr. Keogh (4 votes)

Voting for the election of Cllr Tony Ward – Cllr. Kilduff, Cllr. Ward (2 Votes)

It was deemed that Cllr. John Keogh be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach of the Athlone MD to hold office until his successor is appointed in accordance with the law.

Cllr. John Keogh thanked his proposer and seconder and fellow councillors and is looking forward to working with everyone in coming year.

All members congratulated Cllr J Keogh on his election to Leas-Cathaoirleach and wished him well for the forthcoming year.

The members also thanked Pat Murtagh A/ Director of Services for his co-operation and hard work over past 12 years with Roscommon County Council and wished him well in his new position.

Pat Murtagh thanked all the members and staff of Roscommon County Council for their well wishes.

23.21 DATE OF MEETINGS

It was **UNANIMOUSLY AGREED** by all members that the following Athlone MD meetings for 2021/2022 take place on the following dates:

- 27th July, 2021 (Municipal)
- 14th September, 2021 (Municipal)
- 16th November, 2021 (Municipal)
- 18th January 2022 (Municipal)
- 22nd March, 2022 (Municipal)
- 17th May, 2022 (Municipal)
- 20th June, 2022 (MD AGM after Plenary AGM)

This concluded the business of the AGM

This concluded the business of the AGM.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed:

Parl Browne

Meetings Co-ordinator

Cllr Donal Kilduff

Cathaoirleach

Parl Browne

Countersigned